press release

The 10th LICHTER Art Award anniversary exhibition will open on February 24, 2022 in the exhibition rooms of basis e.V. Originally planned for 2020 and postponed due to the pandemic, the exhibition will show the five nominated works from 2020 until April 17, 2022. As a small gift on top, selected works by artists and jury members of the past LICHTER Art Award editions will be presented in the "LAA RETRO-KINO"
The artworks - from documentaries to essay films and animations to fictional and real narratives - were selected by a three-member jury consisting of the artist and author Natasha A. Kelly, the director of the Kassel Dokfest, Gerhard Wissner Ventura, and Saul Judd.

The Nominees:

- Vanessa Gravenor / This Weapon Drags Like a Boomerang, 2019 (CDN/D)
- Constantin Hartenstein / NARC, 2019 (D)
- Florencia Levy / Fossil Place, 2019 (ARG) / Installation – Gewinnerin
- Pol Merchan / Pirate Boys, 2018 (E/D)
- Maria Molina Peiró / The Sasha, 2019 (E/NL)

The "LAA RETRO-KINO“ presents works of the following artists:
Luciana Lamothe / Hanna Hildebrand / Rebecca Ann Tess / Yuki Kishino / John Skoog / Clementine Coupau / Murray Gaylard / Luiz Roque / Bertrand Flanet / Mandy Krebs / Alina Vasilchenko / Jonathan Van Essche / Zanny Begg / Fabiano Mixo / Yalitsa Riden / Sita Scherer & Tina Schönfelder / James N. Kienitz Wilkins / Holger Jenss / Tobi Sauer / Luzie Meyer / Stefan Ramírez Pérez / Nikita Diakur / Ja-kob Engel / Martin Kohout / Ingel Vaikla / Endre Aalrust / Andrew de Freitas / Lisa Kori / Judith Hopf / Mathilde ter Heijne / Tamara Grcic / Natasha A. Kelly

Also on display are works by former jury members Judith Hopf, Mathilde Ter-Heyne, Tamara Grcic and Natasha A. Kelly.

The exhibition is kindly supported by: Hessische Kulturstiftung, HessenFilm und Medien, Kulturamt Frankfurt.

Cooperation partners: LICHTER Filmfest International and basis e.V.