artists & participants



press release

Professional preview: September 18–19

Artistic director: Thierry Raspail Guest curator: Emma Lavigne

The 14th Biennale de Lyon, entitled Floating Worlds and curated by Emma Lavigne, will take place from September 20, 2017 to January 7, 2018, at la Sucrière, the Lyon Museum of Contemporary Art and an original Richard Buckminster Fuller dome in the Lyon city center.

Floating Worlds
It is in a context of galloping globalization generating constant mobility and accelerated flow—the "liquidity" of the world and of identities, in Zygmunt Bauman’s analysis—that the Biennale de Lyon is exploring the legacy and scope of the concept of “modernity" in the art of our time. The Biennale takes its title from the Japanese word ukiyô, which describes a view of the world as impermanent and continuously renewing itself, a source of freedom and creativity. The libertarian attitudes of artists, who constantly extend the limits of the work of art to make it even more open to the world, are central to our concerns. The Biennale de Lyon has dropped anchor in the heart of a place whose identity is partly shaped by the omnipresence of water, in a city "born of the waters," through which the rivers Rhône and Saône flow. The Biennale reactivates an imagination carried along by the two rivers, generating a topography that unfolds like a voyage through an archipelago of islands that are, by turns, scenes to be looked at or stopping places where we can slow down and steep ourselves in the wonder, the awareness, the contemplation and reflection that they generate. (Emma Lavigne)

Artists (as of June 28): Doug Aitken, Lara Almárcegui, Laurie Anderson, Hans Arp, Renaud Auguste-Dormeuil, Davide Balula, Robert Barry, Laurent P. & Cyrille Berger, Dominique Blais, Céleste Boursier-Mougenot, Thierry Boutonnier, George Brecht, Robert Breer, Mathieu Briand, Marcel Broodthaers, Richard Buckminster Fuller, Alberto Burri, Alexander Calder, Chim↑Pom, Elizabeth S. Clark, Bruce Conner, Philip Corner, Julien Creuzet, Dadamaino, Julien Discrit, Lucio Fontana, Lars Fredrikson, Susanna Fritscher, Jochen Gerz, Marco Godinho, Brion Gysin, Hans Haacke, Anawana Haloba, Hao Jingfang & Wang Lingjie, Lee Mingwei, Ola Maciejewska, Heinz Mack, Jill Magid, Anna Maria Maiolino, Ján Mančuška, Gordon Matta-Clark, David Medalla, Cildo Meireles, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Yuko Mohri, Peter Moore, Ernesto Neto, Rivane Neuenschwander, Camille Norment, Melik Ohanian, Damián Ortega, Fernando Ortega, Nam June Paik, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Lygia Pape, Ewa Partum, Pratchaya Phinthong, Otto Piene, Philippe Quesne, Terry Riley, Lotty Rosenfeld, Tomás Saraceno, Paolo Scheggi, Shimabuku, Mieko Shiomi, Daniel Stegmann Mangrané, Diana Thater, David Tudor, Darío Villalba, Jorinde Voigt, Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Cerith Wyn Evans, La Monte Young, Héctor Zamora, Icaro Zorbar

The Biennale de Lyon is also made of:

Rendez-vous 17
In collaboration with 10 international biennials, Rendez-vous 17 shows at the Institute of Contemporary Art – Villeurbanne 20 emerging artists from here and elsewhere, from France and abroad.

Throughout the Greater Lyon metropolis, Veduta sets up a number of residences (Shimabuku, Lee Mingwei, Lara Almárcegui, Rivane Neuenschwander, and Thierry Boutonnier), exhibitions, workshops, etc, creating permanent or temporary meeting points that arise from the artists’ dialogue with the cities and their inhabitants.

Throughout the Auvergne Rhône-Alpes region, more than 150 art venues orchestrate events, exhibitions, concerts, readings and performances.

Associated exhibitions
Lee Mingwei: Seven Stories, Bullukian Foundation, Lyon
Lee Ufan, Couvent de la Tourette, Eveux