press release

21st Biennale of Sydney
SUPERPOSITION: Equilibrium & Engagement
16.03.2018 - 11.06.2018

70 artists and artist collectives will present works across Sydney at the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Artspace, Carriageworks, Cockatoo Island, Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, Sydney Opera House and 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art for the 21st Biennale of Sydney, SUPERPOSITION: Equilibrium & Engagement.

Artistic Director Mami Kataoka says of the 2018 exhibition, “The artists in the 21st Biennale of Sydney have been chosen to offer a panoramic view of how opposing interpretations can come together in a state of equilibrium. The history of the people of Sydney collectively reflects the history of the world in the 20th century, in particular the movements and migration of people and cultures away from conflict. My hope is that the artworks in this Biennale will serve as a catalyst for thought for all of us.”

Jo-Anne Birnie-Danzker, Director and CEO of the Biennale of Sydney, added: “In 2018, we celebrate the 45th anniversary of the Biennale of Sydney, one of the leading contemporary art events in the Asia Pacific region. Under the artistic leadership of Mami Kataoka the 21st Biennale of Sydney promises to be a compelling exploration of the most urgent issues of our day."

Art Gallery of New South Wales
Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Sydney Ball, Oliver Beer, Miriam Cahn, Francisco Camacho Herrera, Cercle d'Art des Travailleurs de Plantation Congolaise (CATPC) with Baloji and Renzo Martens, Roy de Maistre, Lili Dujourie, Luciano Fabro, Marlene Gilson, N.S. Harsha, Noguchi Rika, Sa Sa Art Projects, Semiconductor, Roy Wiggan, Riet Wijnen, Samson Young, Biennale of Sydney Archive

Ai Weiwei, Michaël Borremans, Tiffany Chung, Geng Xue, Tanya Goel

Chen Shaoxiong, Sam Falls, Marco Fusinato, Laurent Grasso, Trinh Thi Nguyen, Semiconductor, Michael Stevenson, George Tjungurrayi

Cockatoo Island
Julian Abraham "Togar", Ai Weiwei, Abraham Cruzvillegas, Anya Gallaccio, Ryan Gander, Ami Inoue, Mit Jai Inn, Suzanne Lacy, Nicholas Mangan, Prabhavathi Meppayil, Kate Newby, Tawatchai Puntusawasdi, Koji Ryui, Khaled Sabsabi, Yasmin Smith, Dimitar Solakov, Su-Mei Tse, Martin Walde, Wong Hoy Cheong, Yanagi Yukinori

Museum of Contempary Art Australia
Brook Andrew, Marc Bauer, Marjolijn Dijkman, Simryn Gill, Hsu Chia-Wei, Sosa Joseph, Jacob Kirkegaard, Yvonne Koolmatrie, Tuomas, Aleksander Laitinen, Liza Lou, Tom Nicholson, Ciara Phillips, Svay Sareth, Maria Taniguchi, Esme Timbery, Nicole Wong, Haegue Yang, Yarrenyty Arltere Artists

Sydney Opera House
Oliver Beer, Rayyane Tabet

4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art
Akira Takayama, Jun Yang