press release

e-flux Prize at Oberhausen continues

The e-flux Prize at the International Short Film Festival Oberhausen, launched in 2015, will continue at the 62nd edition of the Festival, set to take place from 5 to 10 May 2016. The Prize, a pioneering collaboration between a film festival known for its artistic focus and a platform dedicated to the discussion, dissemination and production of contemporary art, will again be awarded by the festival's International Jury. It is intended to distinguish exceptional film and video works which reshape the poetic and electric potential of moving images in the age of planetary circulation of information. The e-flux Prize is endowed with 3,000 euros.

The inaugural e-flux Prize at Oberhausen was awarded on 5 May 2015 to Mexican artist Bruno Varela for his work Tiempo Aire (Air Time) "in recognition of its complex layered narration, its innovative combination of the personal with social and political history" (jury statement). The members of the International Jury were George Clark (Great Britain), Kati Kivinen (Finland), Park Chan-kyong (South Korea), Andréa Picard (Canada) and Marta Ponsa (France).

The International Competition is the biggest of Oberhausen's five competitions, annually comprising between 60 and 70 new works from all over the world. The members of the 2016 jury will be announced in January 2016, the competition line-up in early April 2016. The Festival awards a total of almost 42,000 euros in prize money.

Submissions to the Oberhausen competition are now accepted via the Festival's website.