press release

venue: Palazzo Pepoli, via Castiglione 8/10, Bologna

The 8. Furla Prize 2011
Pleure qui peut, rit qui veut

Christian Boltanski, patron artist
Shortlist exhibition

Künstler: Alis / Filliol (Andrea Respino / Davide Gennarino), Francesco Arena, Rossella Biscotti, Matteo Rubbi, Marinella Senatore

The 8. Furla Prize 2011 evolved over its eight editions and is now recognised as the ultimate Italian prize in support of young Italian contemporary artists, with a format focusing on education and the production of new works.

The patron artist of the 8. Furla Prize 2011 is Christian Boltanski, who created the image and motto of this edition, Pleure qui peut, rit qui vet, a sort of oxymoron for the 5 finalists.

The artists are: Alis/Filliol - Andrea Respino (Cuneo, 1976) and Davide Gennarino (Torino, 1979), nominated by Simone Menegoi and Marianne Lanavère; Francesco Arena (Brindisi, 1978), nominated by Vincenzo De Bellis and Philippe Pirotte; Rossella Biscotti (Bari, 1978), nominated by Cecilia Canziani and Vincent Honoré; Matteo Rubbi (Bergamo, 1980), nominated by Lorenzo Bruni and Carson Chan; Marinella Senatore (Salerno, 1977), nominated by Alfredo Cramerotti and Emily Pethick.

The 5 finalists projects and a selection of artists’ works will be presented in Bologna at Palazzo Pepoli, in the exhibition Pleur qui peut, rit qui veut - a collaboration with Fondazione Furla and Fondazione Carisbo (29 January – 6 February 2011).

An international jury consisting of Christian Boltanski, Stefano Chiodi (art historian and critic), Vít Havránek (curator), Jörg Heiser (co-editor of frieze magazine), Miguel Von Hafe Pérez (director of the CGAC Centro Galego de Arte Contemporáneo in Santiago de Compostela, Spain) will choose the winner, to be announced on January 28, 2011 in Bologna, during the opening of the exhibition.

In addition to the opportunity to study and work abroad in an artist's residency program (at Arizona State University Art Museum) the winner will also be invited to create a work financed by the Fondazione Furla and intended to be showing for a public exhibition thanks to a special agreement with the MAMbo – Museum of Modern Art of Bologna. The work of the winning project will premiere at the Fondazione Querini Stampalia in Venice in June 2011, during the 54 Biennale of Visual Arts.

The Furla Prize, created by Chiara Bertola, is today organised and promoted by Fondazione Furla, Fondazione Carisbo, Fondazione Querini Stampalia, and MAMbo – Museum of Modern Art of Bologna, with the support of Carisbo S.p.A. and with the collaboration of Viafarini and Arte Fiera.

Pleure qui peut, rit qui veut, shortlist exhibition Alis/Filliol, Francesco Arena, Rossella Biscotti, Matteo Rubbi, Marinella Senatore. Curated by Lorenzo Bruni, Cecilia Canziani, Alfredo Cramerotti, Vincenzo de Bellis, Simone Menegoi 29 January – 6 February 2011 Palazzo Pepoli, Via Castiglione 8/10 Bologna Hours: 30 January – 6 February, 10 am – 7 pm | Saturday 29 January, 10 am – 24 Free Entry 27 – 28 January 2011 | 10 am – 12 noon| preview Arte Fiera press and professionals 28 January 2011 | opening 7pm – 9pm | by invitation only

Round Table “8th Furla Prize 2011”: Friday, 28 January 2011, 11:30am – 1.30pm as part of Arte Fiera 2011 Art Talks | Piazza Costituzione, Bologna