press release

This summer, the two floors of Art Museum Tennis Palace will be filled with contemporary Chinese photographs. The exhibition A Strange Heaven will introduce some 42 artists from China, Taiwan or Hong Kong. The pictures are from the last 15 years and form a comprehensive presentation of Chinese art photography, which has never been shown as extensively in Finland.

In the past ten years, contemporary Chinese painting, video art, installation, music and architecture have established themselves on the international art scene. In contrast, Chinese artists have only been using photography since the 1990s when it evolved into an independent art form in China. The principal themes of the exhibition are founded on the diversity of contemporary Chinese reality. The works deal mainly with individual identity, family and society in an ever-changing present. Many of the works are also visibly influenced by ancient cultures and philosophical traditions, and others by recent political upheavals. China’s economy has been expanding rapidly for some decades, which has led to unanticipated social change. This, too, is reflected in the works, which deal with problems that are new to China: urbanisation and globalisation. Many of the artists also deal with the universal problems of sexuality, sensuality and gender. The exhibition was compiled by Galerie Rudolfinum in Prague and its curators are Chang Tsong-zung and Galerie Rudolfinum’s director Petr Nedoma.

The exhibition includes a richly illustrated 188-page catalogue, with articles by Petr Nedoma and Chang Tsong-zung.


only in german

A Strange Heaven
Contemporary Chinese Photography
Kuratoren: Chang Tsong-zung, Petr Nedoma
Art Museum Tennis Palace

Künstler: Ai Weiwei, Cang Xin, Chang Chien-Chi, Chen Chieh-jen, Chen Lingyang, Chen Shaoxiong, Chen Shun-chu, Ching Chin-wai, Feng Mengbo, Hai Bo, Han Lei, He An , Hong Hao, Hong Lei, Hu Jieming, Hung Tung-lu, Huang Yan, Jin Feng, Leung Chi Wo, Lin Shu-min, Lin Tianmiao, Liu Zheng, Ma Liuming, Qiu Zhijie, Rong Rong & Inri, Shao Yinong & Muchen, Shi Yong, Song Yongping, Wang Jinsong, Wang Ningde, Wang Qingsong, Weng Fen, Wu Shanzhuan & Inga Svala Thorsdottir, Wu Tien-chang, Yao Jui-chung, Yin Xiuzhen, Yuan Goang-ming, Zhao Bandi, Zhao Shaoruo, Zheng Guogu, Zhou Xiaohu, Zhuang Hui