press release

'Where to?’ From a plane trip halfway round the globe, to a poetic walk through suburban backstreets, to a virtual voyage through a digitally constructed world, the 2011 Anne Landa Award offers a series of ‘unguided tours’ through some rich imaginative territory. Using video, computer animation, kinetic sculpture and even an immersive game environment, the seven contemporary artists in Unguided tours explore the lure of other places, the anxieties and pleasures of travel, and the unexpected rewards of getting lost.

The fourth in the series of biennial Anne Landa Award exhibitions that began at the Art Gallery of NSW in 2004, this year’s edition is guest-curated by New Zealand curator and author Justin Paton, and features the artists Rachel Khedoori, David Haines and Joyce Hinterding, Jae Hoon Lee, Arlo Mountford, Charlie Sofo, and Ian Burns.

All artists were eligible for the acquisitive award of $25 000, which sees the winning work enter the Gallery’s collection. In 2011, the Anne Landa Award was won by David Haines and Joyce Hinterding for The outlands.

In this video, Haines and Hinterding discuss their winning work with curator Justin Paton.

Unguided tours
4. Anne Landa Award for Video and New Media Arts 2011
Kurator: Justin Paton

Künstler: Rachel Khedoori, David Haines, Joyce Hinterding, Jae Hoon Lee, Arlo Mountford, Charlie Sofo, Ian Burns.