artists & participants

press release

Biennale of Sydney is one of the most exciting events in the Australian art calendar. Around fifty international artists have been invited to show work for Biennale of Sydney 2004, with many creating new works for Sydney. The exhibition leads the viewer through the most scenic parts of the city in a walkable circuit, making Biennale a real discovery of artworks. The MCA is a key component of the exhibition, dedicating all galleries to this major event. On Reason and Emotion is Curator Isabel Carlos’ theme for Sydney’s 14th Biennale. The concept emerged from a conversation between Isabel Carlos and the artist Jimmie Durham, whose work will feature in the Biennale of Sydney 2004. Both had read Antonio Damasio’s book “Descartes’ Error”, which concludes that emotion is fundamental to human intelligence, and which can be summarised by “I feel therefore I am”. “I believe in the importance of the viewer being confronted with demanding concepts and visually powerful works of art”, Isabel Carlos says. “I am interested in art that creates a bridge between these two poles. The project aims to invite the spectator to participate in an aesthetic experience using not only their sight, but also all the senses, provoking active participation and inciting the emotions." Other venues are the Art Gallery of New South Wales, Sydney Opera House, Artspace, Museum of Sydney and Royal Botanic Gardens, Sydney. A dynamic public program of performances, screenings and talks runs during the exhibition at all venues. Pressetext

only in german

14th Biennale of Sydney 2004 "On Reason and Emotion"
General Manager: Paula Latos-Valier
Künstlerische Leitung: Isabel Carlos

mit Vito Acconci, Kim Adams, AES+F, Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Helena Almeida, Francis Alÿs, Miguel Angel Rios, James Angus, Eleanor Antin, Vasco Araujo, Atelier van Lieshout, Gilles Barbier Blast Theory , Pat Brassington, Glenn Brown, Chris Burden, George Bures Miller, Janet Cardiff, Loulou Chérinet, James Coleman, Nathan Coley, Patrick Corillon, Dexter Dalwood, Henry Darger, Do-Ho Suh, Jimmie Durham, Carolyn Eskdale, Matias Faldbakken, Nina Fischer, Simryn Gill, Rodney Graham, Veli Granö, Asta Gröting, David Haines, Peter Hill, Susan Hiller, Joyce Hinterding, Pravdoliub Ivanov, Katarzyna Josefowicz, Emiko Kasahara, Emma Kay, Paul Etienne Lincoln, Robert MacPherson, Aleksandra Mir, Bruce Nauman, Mike Nelson, Jun Nguyen-Hatsushiba, Olaf Nicolai, Paul Noble, Susan Norrie, Melik Ohanian, Panamarenko, Michael Parekowhai, Philippe Parreno, Simon Patterson, Joao Penalva, Patricia Piccinini, Pope Alice, Frederic Post, Kathy Prendergast, Matthew Ritchie, Mp & Mp Rosado, de Rijke / de Rooij; Mario Rizzi, Salon de Fleurus (Marina Grzinic), Maroan el Sani, Jim Shaw, Jari Silomäki, Ann Sofi Sidén, Darren Siwes, Yutaka Sone, Mike Stevenson, Daniel von Sturmer, Vibeke Tandberg, Frank Thiel, Suzanne Treister, Shirley Tse, Jeffrey Vallance, H J Wedge, Cang Xin, Xing Danwen, Miwa Yanagi, Heimo Zobernig ...

Art Gallery of New South Wales; Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney; artspace Sydney; Sydney Opera House; Museum of Sydney; Royal Botanic Gardens; Object Galleries; Ortwell St