press release

Board and Directors of the Niet Normaal Foundation are pleased to invite you to the grand opening of HACKING HABITAT. Art of Control, Friday 26 February 2016 from 5:00 pm to 10 pm in the former prison at Wolvenplein in Utrecht.

HACKING HABITAT is a largescale, international exhibition on the cutting edge of art, technology and social change. More than 85 internationally acclaimed artists will participate and present their work until 6 June 2016.

Special guest is Birgitta Jonsdottir, poetician and activist, known from Wikileaks and formely representing the Citizens’Movement (later Pirate Party) since 2009 in the Iceland Parliament (link website). The opening party is organized by PLANETART, home of the electronic (r) age, including Valery Vermeulen, Monodeer, Rosa Menkman and Noodlebar. An extensive program is included in the confirmation email.

There are a limited number of places available.


About Hacking Habitat

Discover in HACKING HABITAT how systems are holding us hostage. High-tech systems are taking increasing control of our lives. Security cameras monitor our moves, Google steers what we do online with incomprehensible algorithms and we are having a collective love affair with our smart phones. The good news is: we’re taking control back into our own hands. The international art exhibition HACKING HABITAT will open on February 26th in a former prison, the perfect place to experience what control feels like. Socially engaged and critical, but also humorous and optimistic. More than eighty internationally acclaimed artists show us the power of high-tech networks as well as how we can fight back. How do we win our world back from institutions and systems? How do we find the right balance between technology and humanity?

In short: how do we hack our habitat? With Forensic Architecture (UK), Joseph Beuys (DE), Melanie Bonajo (NL), James Bridle (UK), Felix Burger (DE), Centre for Political Beauty (DE), Johan Grimonprez (BE), Susan Hiller (USA), Samson Kambalu (MW), William Kentridge (SA), Laura Kurgan (USA), Cristina Lucas (ESP), Metahaven (NL), Pedro Reyes (MX), Fernando Sanchez Castillo (ESP), Stanza (UK), Timo Arnall (NO), Susan Hiller (USA) and many others. Picture of the prison (homepage): Fleur Wiersma