press release

Symposium Friday, October 26, 10am–noon USF Marshall Center Ballroom Artist María Fernanda Cardoso, Sydney, Australia; Artist Edouard Duval-Carrié, Miami Beach; and Curator Noel Smith, USF.

Opening Reception Friday, October 26, 7–9pm, USFCAM All events are free and open to the public.

Homing Devices is a group exhibition that considers the way contemporary Latin American and Caribbean sculptors—who may live and work anywhere in the world—approach the idea of home in context of increasing globalization, mobility, exile and migration in the Americas. By including works that are accented but not defined or delimited by cultural, geographical, and national boundaries, the exhibition considers the vital question of how art and artists preserve their identity within a global landscape.

Artists include: Abel Barroso (Cuba); María Fernanda Cardoso (Colombia, lives in Sydney, Australia); Tiago Carneiro da Cunha (Brazil); Enrique Chagoya (USA); Diego de la Cruz and Antuán Lázaga (Puerto Rico); Edouard Duval-Carrié (Haiti, lives in Miami); Iran do Espíritu Santo (Brazil); José Manuel Fors (Cuba); Carlos Garaicoa (Cuba); Kcho (Cuba); Ernesto Leal (Cuba); Los Carpinteros (Cuba); Jorge Macchi (Argentina); Luis or Miguel (Cuba); Cildo Meireles (Brazil); Sandra Ramos (Cuba); Roseângela Rennó (Brazil); Betsabée Romero (Mexico); and Sofía Táboas (Mexico).

Homing Devices is curated by Corina Matamoros, Curator of Contemporary Cuban Art at the National Museum of Fine Arts, Havana, and Noel Smith, USF. The exhibition is organized by the USF Contemporary Art Museum, and is a significant component to the Tampa Bay area’s 2007 Arte Festival, which celebrates the variety of cultures from Latin America and the Caribbean.

only in german

Homing Devices

Künstler: Abel Barroso, Maria Fernanda Cardoso, Tiago Carneiro da Cunha, Enrique Chagoya, Diego de la Cruz / Antuan Lazaga, Edouard Duval-Carrie, Iran do Espirito Santo, Jose Manuel Fors, Carlos Garaicoa, Kcho , Ernesto Leal, Los Carpinteros , Jorge Macchi, Luis or Miguel , Cildo Meireles, Sandra Ramos, Rosangela Renno, Betsabee Romero, Sofia Taboas