press release

Loud & Clear is an international project of short films created by eleven trios, each consisting of a visual artist, a composer and a publicity designer. The exhibition, co-organised by the Dutch Bifrons Foundation and the Ludwig Museum, Cologne, is unique in the sense that it goes beyond the confines of “high art”, interlinking the disparate visual languages of distant fields of visual culture.

The films can be viewed either outdoors, on monitors specially designed for the occasion, or indoors, in the passageways within the building. Despite the monitors resembling outdoor electronic signboards, they will present films that, in individual ways, are juxtaposed with public advertisements. Similar to usual commercials, music has a significant role to play in these films as well. The artists consulted publicity designers in realising their films, to which the composers created new music. Each short film is an autonomous work of art, generated out of a symbiosis of fine art, music and advertising.

Participants: Pipilotti Rist + Caroline Berkenbosch + S,C,P,F Viktor&Wolf + Toek Numan + Saatchi & Saatchi Marlene Dumas + Ryuichi Sakamoto + KesselsKramer John M. Armleder + Hans van Manen + Fastland/Ground Pierre Bismuth + Theo Loevendie + Strawberry Frog Pierre Huyge + Steamboat Switzerland + KesselsKramer Yayoi Kusama + Haukur Tomasson + Jung von Matt Aernout Mik + Gudni Franszon + Wieden & Kennedy Gillian Wearing + Yello + NEW® Tamás Komoróczky + Thor Eldon + Guido Heffels L. A. Raeven + Pupilla + Chris Rehberger


Loud & Clear TOO
Kooperation: Dutch Bifrons Foundation, Ludwig Museum Köln

mit Pipilotti Rist, Caroline Berkenbosch, SCPF, Viktor & Wolf, Toek Numan, Saatchi & Saatchi, Marlene Dumas, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Kessels Kramer, John Armleder, Hans van Manen, Fastland / Ground, Pierre Bismuth, Theo Loevendie, Strawberry Frog, Pierre Huyghe, Steamboat Switzerland, Kessels Kramer, Yayoi Kusama, Haukur Tomasson, Jung von Matt, Aernout Mik, Gudni Franszon, Wieden & Kennedy, Gillian Wearing, Yello , NEW , Tamas Komoroczky, Thor Eldon, Guido Heffels, L.A. Raeven, Pupilla , Chris Rehberger