press release

This year, for the first time, works by candidates for the Prix de Rome (Visual Arts) will be exhibited simultaneously at two venues. Contemporary art centers Witte de With (Rotterdam) and de Appel (Amsterdam) each present five of the ten long-listed candidates, including two of the four short-listed artists.

An international jury – comprising Chris Dercon (director Haus der Kunst, Munich), Germaine Kruip (artist, NL), David Bade (artist, NL), Jean-Marc Bustamante (artist, FR) and Janwillem Schrofer (director Rijksakademie, Amsterdam) – selected ten candidates from over 200 submissions.

Witte de With will show work by: Sema Bekirovic (NL, b. 1977), Sagi Groner (IL, b. 1971), Claire Harvey (GB, b. 1976), Viviane Sassen (NL, b. 1972) and Anne Wenzel (DE, b. 1972).

De Appel will show work by: Sung Hwan Kim (KO, b. 1975), Maartje Korstanje (NL, b. 1982), Alon Levin (IL, b. 1975), Pablo Pijnappel (BR/NL, b. 1979) and Maaike Schoorel (NL, b. 1973)

The jury selected four finalists – Claire Harvey, Sung Hwan Kim, Maartje Korstanje and Viviane Sassen – who will receive prizes of € 45.000, € 20.000, and two awards of € 10.000. In addition, they have already been awarded a three-month residency at the Rijksakademie to create new work for the exhibition. The final judging, with an additional jury member in the person of artist Angela Bulloch, will take place in the exhibition, taking into consideration this new work. The prizes will be announced on 26 June 2007.

The Prix de Rome is the oldest Dutch state-funded prize for artists based in the Netherlands and under 35 years of age. Its generous prize, established status and its jury consisting almost entirely of artists make the Prix de Rome unique.

May 20, 2007 - July 1, 2007 Location: Witte de With, Rotterdam, and de Appel, Amsterdam Presentation of the long-listed candidates for the Prix de Rome (visual arts) 2007. Opening Saturday May 19, 2007 1 p.m. at Witte de With, Rotterdam 6 p.m. at de Appel, Amsterdam

The entry ticket to the exhibition PRIXDEROME.NL 2007 is valid for both venues.

only in german

Witte de With, Rotterdam / De Appel, Amsterdam

De Appel: Maartje Korstanje, Alon Levin, Pablo Pijnappel, Maaike Schoorel, Sung Hwan Kim

Witte de With: Sema Bekirovic, Sagi Groner , Claire Harvey, Viviane Sassen, Anne Wenzel

Finalisten: Claire Harvey, Sung Hwan Kim, Maartje Korstanje, Viviane Sassen