press release

Terrorvision is a multidisciplinary arts project that examines how definitions of terror are shaped by individual and collective visions, experiences, memories and histories. This exhibition explores how personal, spiritual and physical events influence our notions of terror and how these unforgettable moments - and the cultural and media artifacts that represent them - have come to define our most extreme fears. This exhibition aims to explore how these definitions and relationships are transformed and determined by geography, generation and personal experience. Terrorvision is designed to serve as a study of terror as depicted through the ingenuity and inventiveness of today� artists.

Curators: Papo Colo and Jeanette Ingberman Project Director: Jodi Hanel, Associate Curator Curatorial Assistant: Camila Marambio

Since the move to Hell� Kitchen in spring 2003, Exit Art has been using a new curatorial model, conceptplus, to organize exhibitions. Conceptplus begins with an idea or theme publicized through an international call to artists who then submit proposals that directly relate to the curatorial premise. This process provides the curators with a diverse range of work from which to curate a show, and gives rise to a more democratic process for programming exhibitions. For Terrorvision, Exit Art received over 650 proposals from around the world. From these submissions 39 new visual works will be presented alongside an ongoing video program, discussion series and special video screening events.

Concept: Papo Colo, Cultural Producer


only in german

Kuratoren: Papo Colo, Jeanette Ingberman

mit Yochai Avrahami, Francisca Benitez, Barbara Broughel, Gabriel Camnitzer, Uri Dotan, Christoph Draeger, Joy Garnett, Gideon Gechtman, Cheo Goya, Michal Heiman, Robert Hickman, Saoirse Higgins, Gary Keown, Fawad Khan, Kosyo, Peter Kuper, Gillian Laub, Flash Light, Reuben Lorch-Miller, Jason Lujan, Dennis K. McGinnis, Arnaldo Morales, Joel Murphy, Ivan Navarro, Lior Neiger, Kevin Noble, Rodrigo Piza, Frank Raczkowski, Simon Schiessl, Tamar Schori, Ariela Shavid, Mike Peter Smith, Florin Tudor, Liselot van der Heijden, Mona Vatamanu, Gal Weinstein, Paul Wirhun, Pavel Wohlberg, Francois Zelif,

VIDEO PROGRAM: Laurie Halsey Brown, Carina Gossele, Norman Cowie, Mark Gould, Michael Hermann, Bill Jones, Naomie Kremer, Michael Laird, Ben Neill, Nurit Newman, Elahe Massumi, Predrag Pajdic, Jayce Salloum, Martin Sastre, Michal Sedaka, Doron Solomons, Millette Tapiador, Claudia X. Valdes, Anabela Zigova, Michael Zansky