press release

In 2000, The Broere Charitable Foundation launched The Vincent van Gogh Biennal Award for Contemporary Art in Europe, in short The Vincent Award.

With this biennial award European talent is being stimulated by a prize fee of € 50.000 and an exhibition at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam. The first three editions of The Vincent Award were organized together with the Bonnefantenmuseum, - Maastricht, The Netherlands, and since 2006 together with the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam.

The Vincent Award aims at stimulating contemporary art in Europe and aims to be a means of communication and discussion within a free, united and peaceful Europe.

The artists in the running are:

• Francis Alÿs (b. 1959, Antwerp, Belgium, currently living and working in Mexico City and London) • Peter Friedl (b. 1960, Oberneukirchen, Austria, at present living and working on location) • Liam Gillick (b. 1964, Aylesbury, United Kingdom, now living and working in New York and London) • Deimantas Narkevicius (b. 1964, Utena, Lithuania, now living and working in Vilnius) • Rebecca Warren (b. 1965, London, United Kingdom, still living and working in London)

The jury of the 2008 edition consists of: Manuel J. Borja-Villel (director Museum of Modern Art, Barcelona), Ian Dunlop (art critic, London), Viktor Misiano (director Contemporary Art Centre, Moscow), Beatrix Ruf (director Kunsthalle Zürich) and Gijs van Tuyl (director Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, chairman).

The Vincent Award 2008

artists in the running: Francis Alÿs, Peter Friedl, Liam Gillick, Deimantas Narkevicius, Rebecca Warren