artists & participants

press release

The Turner Prize 2007 has been awarded to Mark Wallinger, it was announced at Tate Liverpool yesterday. The 25,000 British Pounds prize was presented by Dennis Hopper.

Mark Wallinger was shortlisted for State Britain at Tate Britain, a direct representation of the banners and paraphernalia of Brian Haw's protest in Parliament Square. The jury commended its immediacy, visceral intensity and historic importance. The work combines a bold political statement with art's ability to articulate fundamental human truths.

The jury stressed the strength of the exhibition at Tate Liverpool and wished to record their admiration for the outstanding presentations produced by all four artists.

The winner was chosen by a jury whose members are: Michael Bracewell, writer and critic; Fiona Bradley, Director, Fruitmarket Gallery; Edinburgh; Thelma Golden, Director & Chief Curator, Studio Museum, Harlem; Miranda Sawyer, freelance broadcaster and writer and Christoph Grunenberg, Director of Tate Liverpool and Chairman of the Jury.

The Turner Prize is being held at Tate Liverpool this year as a curtain-raiser for Liverpool's year as European Capital of Culture in 2008. The exhibition, featuring work from the four shortlisted artists Zarina Bhimji, Nathan Coley, Mike Nelson and Mark Wallinger, will continue until 13 January at Tate Liverpool. The prize will return to Tate Britain in 2008.


Tate has now announced the four artists who have been shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2007. The artists are Zarina Bhimji, Nathan Coley, Mike Nelson and Mark Wallinger. This is the first time that the Turner Prize has been presented outside London since it began in 1984, and is a curtain-raiser for Liverpool European Capital of Culture 2008.

The Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

Zarina Bhimji For her solo exhibitions at Haunch of Venison, London and Zurich, with work engaging with universal human emotions such as grief, pleasure, love and betrayal using non-narrative photography and film-making. Through powerful, atmospheric and poignant imagery, Bhimji's recent work demonstrates a new approach to her long-standing preoccupations and research.

Nathan Coley For his solo exhibition at Mount Stuart, Isle of Bute, the public installation Camouflage Church, Santiago de Compostela, Spain and his contribution to the group exhibition Breaking Step - Displacement, Compassion and Humour in Recent British Art at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Belgrade, Serbia. Through a variety of media, Nathan Coley’s work makes manifest the belief systems embedded in society and its architectures.

Mike Nelson For his solo exhibitions AMNESIAN SHRINE or Double coop displacement, Matt’s Gallery, London and Mirror Infill (2006), Frieze Projects, Frieze Art Fair, London in which his immersive installations transport the viewer to imaginary, yet plausible worlds. For the Frieze Art Fair he created an installation of a photographic studio that brought the site of creativity to the heart of the commercial environment in which it was embedded.

Mark Wallinger For his solo exhibition State Britain at Tate Britain. Mark Wallinger’s powerful installation demonstrates art’s unique ability to engage with contemporary political issues. The direct representation of Brian Haw’s banners and paraphernalia creates a force and conviction unmatched by the representation of the Parliament Square protest in the media. The work evokes a heightened sense of reality that communicates an unpalatable political truth.

The Turner Prize 2007 is supported by Arts Council England, Liverpool Culture Company, Northwest Regional Development Agency, Milligan and Tate Members.

Work by the shortlisted artists will be shown in an exhibition at Tate Liverpool opening on 19 October 2007. The winner will be announced at Tate Liverpool on 3 December 2007 during a live broadcast by Channel 4.

The members of the Turner Prize 2007 jury are: Michael Bracewell, writer and critic Fiona Bradley, Director, Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh Thelma Golden, Director & Chief Curator, Studio Museum, Harlem Miranda Sawyer, freelance broadcaster and writer Christoph Grunenberg, Director, Tate Liverpool and Chairman of the Jury

Turner Prize 2007: Mark Wallinger

venue: Liverpool Biennial 2007