press release

Established in 1984 to draw greater public attention to contemporary art, the Turner Prize has both reflected and informed the popular reception of new British art in this country and internationally.

Each year a specialist jury has shortlisted some of the most important artists working today, and made the difficult decision to award the Prize to one of them, causing annual controversy and debate.

The judges for the Turner Prize 2010 are Isabel Carlos, Andrew Nairne and Polly Staple. The exhibition will feature the works of four shortlisted British artists, to be announced in April. The winner of the Turner Prize 2010 will be announced in December 2010.

Turner Prize 2010: Susan Philipsz