press release


D Museum presents YOUTH, a groundbreaking exploration of the freedom, rebellion, innocence and passion of youth culture, from February 9 to May 28, 2017. Featuring unique and highly personal interpretations of young life in the works of some 28 international artists, this exhibition attempts to convey the creative energy and boundless potential of youth.

Divided into two sections, the exhibition comprises over 240 works, including 200 photographs, 25 videos, and 15 graphic and installation works, offering a comprehensive overview of the multifaceted emotions of youth such as freedom, passion, rebellion, innocence and hedonism, curated with D Museum's distinctive style.

The first section of the exhibition focuses on the raw energy of youth, opening a window onto its turbulent inner world through works that candidly depict a spirit of rebellion fueled by intense frustration and agony. The works of some 20 key artists, all highly influential in the formation of today’s youth culture, demonstrate the importance of the instinctive rejection of convention as a driving force for creativity. The second section celebrates the optimism of youth, introducing photographs and videos by six artists that vividly capture the thrill, joy, and hedonistic freedom accompanying this ambiguous stage of life. These works portray youth, an age to which we can never return, as the most brilliant phase of life, a time when anxiety is sublimated into joy and ecstasy.

YOUTH is an uncompromising depiction of the powerful dynamism of youth culture, delivered through the works of artists who capture life's most special moments through a variety of fresh methods and perspectives. This unprecedented exhibition promises a remarkable experience, awakening us to our inner desire to break the mold and embrace the new.

Participating artists Adrienne Salinger, Andrew Lyman, Boiler Room, Cali Thornhill Dewitt, Chi Modu, C. R. Stecyk III, Darren Romanelli AKA Dr. Romanelli, Dash Snow, Deanna Templeton, Derek Ridgers, Doug Dubois, Felipe Pantone, Gosha Rubchinskiy, Jae Huh, Kwangkee Lee, Larry Clark, Madsaki, Masha Demianova, Nicolas Brulez, Paolo Raeli, Paul Franco, Richard Gilligan, ROA, Roger Mayne, Ryan Garshell, Ryan Mcginley, Scott Campbell, Yung Lean