press release

The Deste Prize for contemporary Greek art was launched in 1999 with the aim of supporting and promoting developments in contemporary Greek art. The Prize, which is awarded every two years to a Greek artist whose work has made a significant contribution to artistic discourse in Greece, intends to encourage and reinforce the spirit of innovation in contemporary art.

The Selection Committee for the 2003 Deste Prize comprised of: Katerina Koskinas, Curator, the J.F. Kostopoulos Foundation Constantine Papageorgiou, Collector Rena Papaspyrou, Painter, Professor, The Athens School of Fine Arts Yorghos Tzirtzilakis, Architect Marina Fokides, Independent Curator, Art Critic

The Selection Committee deemed the following areas to be of particular interest: -The relation of socio-cultural identity to global issues and current international realities. -The examination of contemporary local reality and specificity. -The question of personal identity and private narratives.

According to the Selection Committee's announcement the six shortlisted artists for this year's Prize are:

-Nikos Alexiou: for his consistent research which combines a contemporary visual language with a hidden tradition thus arriving at a highly personal idiom. -Apostolos Georgiou: for his personal, idiosyncratic use of the language of painting. Dimitris Kozaris: for his research into the conflicting characteristics of the media of sculpture and video. -Nikos Navridis: for his study of human behaviour and of the notions that define and complement it. -Maria Papadimitriou: for her ability to instigate collaborative projects and collective activities that highlight the interconnection between art and social reality. -Nikos Tranos: for his sculptural use of everyday, personal experience.

The six shortlisted artists are all candidates for the Prize and their work is the subject of an exhibition at the Deste Foundation's Centre for Contemporary Art. The Deste Prize is €10.000 and is awarded to the artist whose work attempts to open up new ways for art and contributes to the discourse and the development of contemporary art in Greece according to the above mentioned criteria. The 3rd Deste Prize was announced on Tuesday, 11th September 2003.

The Jury for the 2003 Deste Prize consists of: Dakis Ioannou, President, Deste Foundation Tuula Arkio, Director, Finnish National Galleries Maurizio Cattelan, Artist Massimiliano Gioni, Curator and Artistic Director, The Nicola Trussardi Foundation, Milan Lars Nittve, Director, Moderna Museet, Stockholm

ORGANISATION COMMITTEE: Dakis Ioannou, President DESTE Foundation Orestis Doumanis, Publisher - Director Design and Art in Greece and Architecture in Greece. Yorghos Tzirtzilakis, Architect Ileana Tounta, Director, Ileana Tounta Center for Contemporary Art Katerina Gregos, Curator and Critic


only in german

3rd Deste prize 2003

mit Nikos Alexiou, Apostolos Georgiou, Dimitris Kozaris, Nikos Navridis, Maria Papadimitriou, Nikos Tranos