press release

This year’s shortlist was a diverse selection of international artists spanning different generations and cultures. It included some of the pioneers of current contemporary art practice on the world stage, and the opportunity to showcase their work in this major exhibition was a huge cultural coup for Wales.

The Shortlisted Artists:
Carlos Bunga, Omer Fast, Theaster Gates, Sanja Ivekovic, Ragnar Kjartansson, Sharon Lockhart, Renata Lucas, Renzo Martens, Renzo Martens, Karen Mirza, Brad Butler

Adam Budak, Director of Collections and Exhibtions, National Gallery of Art, Prague
Sabine Schaschl, Director and Curator, Musem Haus Konstruktiv, Zurich

JJ Charlesworth, Judging Panel Chairman, Freelance Art Critic & Associate Editor of Art Review
Inti Guerrero, Art Critic and Curator, Hong Kong
Elise Atagana, Freelance Curator, Paris
Alia Swastika, Curator and Writer, Yogyakarta
Amanda Farr, Oriel Davies Gallery