press release

Democracy When? Activist Strategizing in Los Angeles is a thesis exhibition presented for the Master of Arts in Critical and Curatorial Studies, UCLA Department of Art, in conjunction with the UCLA Hammer Museum and Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions.

Financial support is provided by the Ruth Peskin Distinguished Artists Fund. Generous support for the exhibition and its accompanying publication has also been provided by the University of California Institute for Research in the Arts, the Arnold Rubin Award, the UCLA Graduate Students Association, and Dr. Cantz'sche Druckerei.

This website accompanies the exhibition Democracy When? Activist Strategizing in Los Angeles presented at Los Angeles Contemporary Exhibitions and different locations in Los Angeles from May 4 through June 15, 2002. It is not a website that documents what is on display in the exhibition. Rather, it is conceived as a program that will guide you through the issues addressed in the exhibition and the events and activities generated by it.

Democracy When? is best described as a collective think tank for the exchange and rethinking of activist strategies and practices. The exhibition brings together thirty-five artists and artists collectives, activists and organizers, community organizations and activist groups, academics and theoreticians from greater Los Angeles to collectively explore a number of problematics that political, social, and cultural activism is faced with today. Audiences are invited to take part in this exploration by visiting the exhibition frequently and participating in the projects, discussions, actions, interventions, events, and performances that it stages during its six-week exhibition period.


only in german

Democracy When?
Kurator: Tone O. Nielsen

mit Lida Abdul, Edgar Arceneaux, Michael Baers, Mariana Botey, Nancy Buchanan, Chris Burnett, Erica R. Cho, Coalition Against Police Abuse, Nicole Cousino, Dorit Cypis, Sohail Daulatzai, Sharon Hayes, Marc Herbst, Robby Herbst, Hip Hop Congress, Ji Sung Kim, Scott Kaldunski, LA Food Not Bombs, Sarah Lewison, Los Angeles Independent Media, Arnitis Motevalli, Tone O. Nielsen, Mario Ontiveros, Linda Pollack, Margaret Prescod, Raymond Rocco, Fidel Rodriguez, Stephen Rohde, Society for Organotic Streamin, Kendra Stanifer, T. Kim-Trang, The Speculative Archive for Hi, Christina Ulke, Mario Ybarra Jr., u.a.