press release

International Film Festival Rotterdam 2018
24.01.2018 - 04.02.2018

Screenings, Performances and Installations at International Film Festival Rotterdam 2018: a boundless dialogue between art and film

International Film Festival Rotterdam (IFFR) has always celebrated the ways in which art and film can intersect. It has incorporated exhibitions, performances and screenings of artist film and video on the cinema screen as part of its activity for many years. For the festival’s 47th edition this year, artists’ moving images take a more central position than ever.

Ammodo Tiger Short Competition
The 2018 edition presents 22 films in the Ammodo Tiger Short Competition, which includes new works by Artur Żmijewski, Yto Barrada, Hiwa K, Zhou Tao, Korakrit Arunanondchai, Mel O’Callaghan, Maeve Brennan, Monira Al Qadiri, Adrian Paci, Maryam Tafakory, Nazlı Dinçel, Daniel Jacoby & Araki Yu, Tobias Zielony, Isabelle Tollenaere, Sara Cwynar, Rainer Kohlberger, Manuel Knapp and Heather Phillipson. Three award-winners will be selected by a jury of three, comprised of Chinese filmmaker Ying Liang, Dutch graphic designer Mieke Gerritzen and Kenyan filmmaker Jim Chuchu, founder of The Nest Collective.

Now in its 13th year, the competition forms a central part of IFFR Short Film, a unique showcase of artists’ moving image and experimental film for works under 65 minutes, which takes place over the first weekend of the festival on January 25-29. Other artists represented in this section include Jon Rafman, Sara Magenheimer, Rosa Barba, Jonna Kina, Prapat Jiwarangsan, Agnieszka Polska, Solveig Suess, Stephanie Comliang, Anna Jermolaewa and Wojciech Bąkowski.

Laure Prouvost, Louis Henderson and Filipa César, who also have films in the programme, will give Artist Talks on their body of work. Over the same weekend, IFFR Short Film presents a four-night programme entitled sound//vision at WORM Rotterdam, featuring live audio-visual performances that range from 16mm expanded cinema to 3D immersive environments by Collectif Nominoë, Britt Al-Busultan, Martha Colburn and more. Artist film and video of all lengths are represented in many sections of the festival, including new works by The Otolith Group, Jan Švankmajer, James Benning, John Clang, Zoe Beloff, Erik van Lieshout, Lawrence Lek, Wang Bing, Amar Kanwar, and Metahaven, whose new feature is in the Hivos Tiger Competition 2018, IFFR's main competition.

Art Directions
IFFR has partnerships with several Rotterdam-based art institutions including Het Nieuwe Instituut, V2_, TENT and LP2 where installations will be hosted during the festival. Artur Żmijewski’s Realism (2017), a work that challenges our conceptions of disability, will be presented at LP2. He will be the subject of a comprehensive retrospective as an Artist in Focus, just like Chinese artist Zhou Tao. The multi-screen Journey to Russia (1989-2017) by Italian artists Yervant Gianikian and Angela Ricci Lucchi will be exhibited at TENT, presented in conjunction with the theme programme A History of Shadows. An exhibition at LP2 will be the centrepiece for the theme programme Curtain Call where the consequences of ever-advancing technology and our human obsession with progress will be investigated in works by Nikolaus Geyrhalter, Robbrecht & Daem Architects and Takahiro Kudo. In collaboration with Art Rotterdam, a special film booth will be installed at Rotterdam Central Station to present Plot Point by Nicolas Provost.

Apichatpong Weerasethakul, with whom the festival has a long relationship since supporting his debut feature through its Hubert Bals Fund, will present the unique one-off project entitled SLEEPCINEMAHOTEL at the Staalzaal of WTC Rotterdam. A serene, immersive film environment where falling asleep is allowed, the space will function as a temporary hotel where hypnagogic images will be projected around the clock. Apichatpong Weerasethakul, along with Alfredo Jaar, was invited to take part in Frameworks, IFFR’s new initiative that annually invites two renowned visual artists to propose emerging talents for a jury, who then selects two Grant Award Winners that will receive a completion grant to finish a single-screen audio-visual artwork. Pathompon Tesprateep and Grada Kilomba were selected this year and will present their completed works at the festival.