press release is an online project launched in 2007 by UNR faculty, Associate Professor, Joseph DeLappe. This ongoing project invites artists from all over the world to propose memorials to commemorate the untold thousands of civilian deaths in the war in Iraq.

The exhibition features the 60+ proposals selected through the juror’s review processes that have taken place on the site. Along with these printed proposals, each individually designed by the artists, the exhibition will feature selected artifacts from individual works, computers for visitors to view the entirety of the project online and a afternoon symposium on March 4th, 2010.

ExhibitionDates: February 15, 2010 - March 12, 2010

Gallery Walk Through: Thursday, March 4, 2010 1-2pm

Four juror's, Dr. Bernadette Buckley, Goldsmiths, University of London, Dr. David Simpson, UC Davis, Raul Zamudio, NYC and Dr. Marjorie Vecchio, Sheppard Gallery Director will join Director Joseph DeLappe for an informal walk through of the exhibition, noting specific proposals and generally discussing their consideration of the selected works. The walkthrough will be followed by a formal symposium in the Knowledge Center Auditorium.

Panel Discussion – Thursday, March 4, 2010 3-5pm Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center Auditorium Room 124 Free and open to the public.

Reception in Gallery Thursday, March 4, 2010 5:30-7pm Dr. Bernadette Buckley, Goldsmiths, University of London Professor Joseph DeLappe, UNR Dr. David Simpson, UC Davis Dr. Marji Vecchio, UNR Raul Zamudio, NYC

Dr. Buckely, Dr. Simpson, Dr. Vecchio and Mr. Zamudio have all served as volunteer juror’s for the project. The panel discussion will feature an extended and far-reaching discussion regarding the impetus behind the project, the juror’s critical consideration of the project. The event will allow a scholarly discussion regarding the development of memorials to war, the artist’s role in a time of war and the practicalities and pitfalls of activist, political gestures. There will be an extended time for a general discussion and dialogue to ensue with those in attendance to the panel discussion. We will invite the UNR community and the general public to attend this event.

Gallery located in Church Fine Arts Building, North Virginia St, two buildings south of Lawlor Events Center Gallery hours: Mon - Thur 11am - 5pm, Fri 11am - 2pm, and by appointment Free parking in Whalen Parking Lot after 5pm, East side of North Virginia St, One building south of Lawlor Events Center. Gallery is not responsible for parking tickets regardless of circumstance.

Sheppard Gallery programming is supported in part by the National Endowment for the Arts, Nevada Arts Council, City of Reno Arts and Culture Commission, University of Nevada, Reno's College of Liberal Arts, School of Art Visiting Artist Fund, Department of Art, and Friends of Sheppard Gallery.

Participating Artists:

Tyler Adams Vincent Akuin & Michael Manalo Jorge Aldea Tony Allard Mehedi Amin kenAR AEC & Team Nadia Awad Stephen Bailey Bill Balaskas Alexandra Ben Simon Joshua Berger Matthijs Boer Carolyn Brown Christina Calbari Chuck Chaney Joseph Choma Ivan Contreras Rubio Ryan Crooks NaJa & deOstos Peter Di Salvo Rodrigo Donoso Carla Drago Maureen Drdak Rob Duarte Hakkie Erol Al Fadhil Elizabeth Filardi & Erik Burke Sara Fiore Nestor Armando Gil Amro Hamzawi Linda Hesh Jona Hoier & Andreas Zingerle Peter Janssen & Ward Janssen Suzanne Kanatsiz Athanasia Karaioannoglou Matt Kenyon & Doug Easterly Lynn Marie Kirby Erik Krikortz Simon Kuntze-Fechner & Eddie Pinaud Patrick Lichty Michael Magrath Megan Mailloux Alban Mannisi & Philippe Nys Cat Soergel Marshall Stephan Mundwiler Yaniv Ophir & Gila Fakterman Farid Rakun Julio Ramirez Bekim Ramku Rashad Salim Andrea Stanislav Erin Finch Stevens Ehren Tool Jack Toolin Werryson Wijaya Geri Wittig Holly Wong Alyssa Wright Sayoko Yoshida

only in german
Exhibition Direktor: Joseph DeLappe Juroren: Bernadette Buckley, David Simpson, Raul Zamudio, Marjorie Vecchio

Künstler: Tyler Adams, Vincent Akuin & Michael Manalo, Jorge Aldea, Tony Allard, Mehedi Amin, kenAR AEC & Team, Nadia Awad, Stephen Bailey, Bill Balaskas, Alexandra Ben Simon, Joshua Berger, Matthijs Boer, Carolyn Brown, Christina Calbari, Chuck Chaney, Joseph Choma, Ivan Contreras Rubio, Ryan Crooks, NaJa & deOstos, Peter Di Salvo, Rodrigo Donoso, Carla Drago, Maureen Drdak, Rob Duarte, Hakkie Erol, Al Fadhil, Elizabeth Filardi & Erik Burke, Sara Fiore, Nestor Armando Gil, Amro Hamzawi, Linda Hesh, Jona Hoier & Andreas Zingerle, Peter Janssen & Ward Janssen, Suzanne Kanatsiz, Athanasia Karaioannoglou, Matt Kenyon & Doug Easterly, Lynn Marie Kirby, Erik Krikortz, Simon Kuntze-Fechner & Eddie Pinaud, Patrick Lichty, Michael Magrath, Megan Mailloux, Alban Mannisi & Philippe Nys, Cat Soergel Marshall, Stephan Mundwiler, Yaniv Ophir & Gila Fakterman, Farid Rakun, Julio Ramirez, Bekim Ramku, Rashad Salim, Andrea Stanislav, Erin Finch Stevens, Ehren Tool, Jack Toolin, Werryson Wijaya, Geri Wittig, Holly Wong, Alyssa Wright, Sayoko Yoshida ...