press release

A project by Public Art Lab / Berlin In cooperation with Ars Electronica Futurelab / Linz, FACT / Liverpool, iMAL / Brussels, Kitchen Budapest, Medialab-Prado / Madrid, m-cult / Helsinki

Networked Possibilities of Urban Screens and Media Facades

MEDIA FACADES FESTIVAL EUROPE 2010 (MFF2010) is an urban media pilot project that interconnects seven European cities through the existing infrastructure of urban screens and media facades sited in public spaces.

Artists and media designers will show especially developed art projects Europe wide, through screenings and Joint Broadcasting Events, for the circulation of cultural exchange. Media facades will be transformed into local stages, connecting public audiences virtually with participating places and opening a global window to create dialogue, to share dreams and exchange ideas.

MMF2010 is based on the success of the MEDIA FACADES FESTIVAL BERLIN 2008, both initiated by Susa Pop / Public Art Lab and Mirjam Struppek / Interactionfield.

Curatorial Programme

The following main curatorial topics have been developed out of the collaboratively selected screening projects. From 27 August to 2 October 2010 each festival day has a special focus on one of the following themes.

∗ Connected Cities: Joint Broadcasting projects that happen simultaneously and interactively across the borders ∗ Urban Activism: Reclaim the Screens! An activist approach to opening screens for the urban community ∗ Human Screens: Human processes are visualised on media facades ∗ Organic Cities: Public Data projects use information resources from the environments and develop a real-time software programme for live streaming ∗ Public Playing: Games designed as an interaction catalyst for the public audience ∗ European Dialogue: Projects that especially support intercultural exchange and connect the local scenes through the media facades infrastructure of the participating cities ∗ Citizens Journalism: Research and participatory projects of local scenes ∗ Recontextualise: A shared video platform on a central server to create local screening programmes

Curatorial Team

Artistic Director BERLIN: Susa Pop / Public Art Lab Co-Curators BRUSSELS: Marie-Laure Delaby, Yves Bernard / iMAL BUDAPEST: Eszter Bircsák / Kitchen Budapest HELSINKI: Minna Tarkka / m-cult LINZ: Stefan Mittlboeck / Ars Electronica Futurelab LIVERPOOL: Heather Corcoran, Patrick Fox / FACT MADRID: Nerea Calvillo / Medialab-Prado


Shervin Afshar (IR/AT) Ulu Braun (DE) Johanna Bruckner (AT/DE) Mattia Casalegno (IT/BE) Sini Haapalinna (FI) Hanna Haaslahti, Pia Lindy, Markku Nousiainen (FI) Lummo: Mar Canet, Carles Gutiérrez, Javier Lloret, Jordi Puig (ES) OiOi: Sami Kamppi, Antti Onttonen, Antti Kaukinen, Tuomas Arokanto (FI) Julian Oliver (NZ/DE) & Danja Vasiliev (RU/DE) Ann Oren (IL), Zevan Rosser (US) Yuka Oyama (JP/DE), Becky Lee (US) Chris O’Shea (GB) Gábor Papp, Agoston Nagy (HU) Julius Popp (DE/US) Nika Radic (HR/DE) Evan Roth (US/FR) Antoine Schmitt (FR) Katrin Schoof (DE) Heidi Tikka (FI) Toxic Lesbian (ES) Emily C. Voelker, Alexandre R. Decoupigny (DE) VR/URBAN: Christian Zoellner, Patrick Tobias Fischer (DE) Dan Wilcox (US) * Clemens Wilhelm (DE)

Screens Sites / Media Facades

BERLIN: Centrum Hungaricum, U6 Friedrichstrasse, Nightscreen Gasometer BRUSSELS: Flagey Screen, iMAL Facade BUDAPEST: Palace of Arts, KIBU Figs Facade, Lánchíd 19 Design Hotel HELSINKI: City Wall / Lasipalatsi Square, Gallery Alkovi, City Tourist Office LINZ: Ars Electronica Center, Tabakfabrik LIVERPOOL: FACT Facades, BBC Big Screen MADRID: Medialab-Prado Facade

only in german

Media Facades Festival Europe 2010
Connected Cities

Joint Broadcasting Events
27. August - 2. Oktober 2010

Media Facades Panel
beim Ars Electronica Festival
6. September 2010

Kuratoren: Susa Pop, Marie-Laure Delaby, Yves Bernard, Eszter Bircsak, Minna Tarkka, Stefan Mittlboeck, Heather Corcoran, Patrick Fox, Nerea Calvillo

Künstler: Shervin Afshar, Ulu Braun, Johanna Bruckner, Mattia Casalegno, Sini Haapalinna, Hanna Haaslahti, Pia Lindy, Markku Nousiainen, Lummo: Mar Canet, Carles Gutierrez, Javier Lloret, Jordi Puig, OiOi: Sami Kamppi, Antti Onttonen, Antti Kaukinen, Tuomas Arokanto, Julian Oliver, Danja Vasiliev, Ann Oren, Zevan Rosser, Yuka Oyama, Becky Lee, Chris O´Shea, Gabor Papp, Agoston Nagy, Julius Popp, Nika Radic, Evan Roth, Antoine Schmitt, Katrin Schoof, Heidi Tikka, Toxic Lesbian, Emily C. Voelker, Alexandre R. Decoupigny, Christian Zoellner, Patrick Tobias Fischer, Dan Wilcox, Clemens Wilhelm