press release

The NMA will present an exhibition of artwork created by northern Nevada middle and high school students as part of The Scholastic Art Awards of 2005. Established in 1923 to encourage, recognize and reward impressive talent among secondary school students, The Scholastic Art Awards program is a national competition that recognizes excellence in the arts. The program serves fourteen counties in northern Nevada and invites students to compete for awards and scholarships through a variety of media. A selection of the regional winners will then be chosen to compete nationally in New York City, NY for the opportunity to exhibit in Washington D.C. at The National Scholastic Art Awards exhibition. Throughout its 82-year history, the program has honored some of our nation’s most celebrated artists including Andy Warhol, Richard Avedon, Robert Indiana, Paul Newman and Robert Redford. The Scholastic Art Awards of 2005 is sponsored by US Bank.


only in german

The Scholastic Art Awards of 2005
Robert Z. Hawkins Contemporary Gallery

2005 Winners:
Lara Wilfredo, Brooke Williams, Olivia Canak, Samantha Thrush, Lisa Vaccaro, Remy Glock, Jacob Johannessen, Mikki Fraser, David Dorn, Ryan Warren, Lachelle Adams, Amber Damone, Danielle Collins, Tina Herdswick, Therese Genio, Julie Brower, Vladimir Bajenov, Eli Mlawsky, Denver Rosario, Olivia Canak, Michelle Laxalt, u.a.u.a.