press release

Monuments for the USA

The artists featured in this exhibition present proposals for a monument for the United States of America. Freed from contextual, budgetary or practical constraints, the proposals reflect each artist's ideas about the type of monument the people of the United States currently need or deserve.

By turns political, satirical, humorous, idealistic and prosaic, these proposals reevaluate and redefine our notions of what monuments can be, and what role they can play in our civic and imaginative life. They range from a Monument to Short-Term Memory (Elmgreen & Dragset) and a Monument to Small Change (Michael Ross), to a proposal that calls for huge loudspeakers to be placed on a mountain in Afghanistan and in a U.S. metropolis, accompanied by microphones allowing reciprocal swearing to be exchanged between citizens of the two countries (Xu Zhen).

Taking the form of drawings, diagrams, maquettes, photocollages, written descriptions, wall paintings, sculptural models or other media, the proposals will be displayed in an exhibition in the CCA Wattis Institute's Logan Galleries. They will also be reproduced, along with texts by the artists, in a fully illustrated publication that will document the project and that will also be distributed as a kind of mail-order catalog in the hope that some of the monuments will eventually be commissioned and realized with the help of appropriate funding sources.


only in german

Kurator: Ralph Rugoff

mit Allora & Calzadilla, Tariq Alvi, Janine Antoni, Edgar Arceneaux, Artemio , Robert Beck, Michel Blazy, Monica Bonvicini, Andrea Bowers, Fernando Bryce, Los Carpinteros, Paul Chan, Adam Chodzko, Martin Creed, Enrico David, Jeremy Deller, Thomas Demand, Jessica Diamond, Sam Durant, Shannon Ebner, Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset, Meschac Gaba, Anya Gallaccio, Hans Haacke, Susan Hiller, Thomas Hirschhorn, Chris Johanson & Kal Spelletich, Michael Joo, Ilya & Emilia Kabakov, Brad Kahlhamer, Barbara Kruger, Gabriel Kuri, Ken Lum, Jason Meadows, Aleksandra Mir, Liliana Moro, Mike Nelson, Paul Noble, Yoshua Okon, Jennifer Pastor, Kirsten Pieroth, Paola Pivi, Marjetica Potrc, Tobias Putrih, Qiu Zhijie, Rigo 23 , Matthew Ronay, Michael Ross, Santiago Sierra, Gary Simmons, Yutaka Sone, Frances Stark, Michael Stevenson, Do-Ho Suh, Torolab , Shirley Tse, Jeffrey Vallance, Mark Wallinger, Olav Westphalen, Xu Zhen, Zhang Huan.